Organisation of Studies

The academic year lasts 12 months; the start is fixed by the head of the university.

Courses are divided into semesters, years or blocks, which are composed of a period of teaching, an examination period and holiday. The structure of the academic year is decided by each institution. It usually begins in October and is divided into two semesters: winter and summer, with examination period after each semester.

A semester normally consists of 14 weeks of teaching followed by five-week examination period after each semester with approx. one- week of Christmas holiday during the winter semester and a two-month holiday (July, August) after the summer semester.

More information available here.